Gunshot

Love

You spit out

Like it’s a terrible thing

I refuse to let the tears spill

as you stare at me

as though it’s the first time you’ve looked at me

Is it all I’ve been to you? I wonder

Just another lousy hookup – is that what I am?

Or did you forget

that I was the one you could be with

especially when you were sober

Did you forget

that you said

I was your drug

I was your addiction

no rehab could rid

I say none of it though

For a gunshot rings out

And he crumples to the floor

Laughing

Love, he says

As my trembling hands

put the pistol back in his holster.

Leave a Reply

